Road to London, My Story – Karen Newman

If you don’t believe in miracles, I hope you do after this story.

I was diagnosed with advanced breast cancer in March of 2008 after being misdiagnosed for years. The cancer had spread into all my lymph nodes and there was concern that it may be in my cervix.  Everyone prayed and I began chemo therapy immediately.  At the time of my diagnosis, I had a slot to the triathlon age-group World Championships in Vancouver BC and I told my college sweetheart and husband (of now 23 years) and our three boys that I would compete and I would fight this ugly demon because cancer had picked the wrong person to mess with.

Less than 48 hours after my fourth chemo therapy treatment, I boarded the plan, sick as a dog but determined to race.  Against all odds I finished the race nearly second to last. It was the hardest thing I have ever done because the chemo caused my fingers and toes to be numb, I had weight and was feeling and freezing the whole time. Transition was a mess and I thought I would fall off my bike…but a higher power helped me to hold on. Crossing the finish line, carrying the US flag was one of the greatest moments in my life and proof that nothing is impossible with GOD and
love heals all.

A week later, I found myself crying alone on a country road because my boys had asked me if I was going to die. How amazing to go from such a high to such a low. I wasn’t crying for me, but because they had to  this cruel disease take so much and because they had to worry about losing their mother.  In between my sobs, I heard GOD say…”Karen, I am going to take you through the valley and put you on a mountain and you will be singing.” It was so amazing. Fast forward to this past Triathlon age group world championships in Auckland New Zealand.  Despite all the trials, I turned the final corner to the finish line and heard over the loud speaker “Here omes Karen Newman, She is second in the WORLD!!! and TOP American”  I began to cry. It was the first time I had ever raced in October, Breast Cancer awareness month and as I made my way to the tent to pick up my jacket, a song  came on the second I entered and I heard the words “YOU RAISE me up so I CAN STAND on MOUNTAINS, you raise me up to walk on stormy seas, I am strong when I am on your shoulders, you raise me up to more than I can be”  I fell on my knees and thanked GOD..you see….he had kept his promise of taking me through the valley at to the mountain….My mountain was a podium!!”  and that night as I stood to receive my silver medal. I was indeed singing.

Screen shot 2013-07-27 at 9.37.01 AM

When I returned from New Zealand, against all ODDS, the pet scan in December revealed NO cancer. We serve the GOD of miracles.  Prayers work and LOVE heals. I will be racing this year in LONDON for GODS glory and  with JOY on my heart. Never give up your dreams, The impossible is possible. Love and blessings to all

Karen Newman (52 years old..racing Aquathlon
and Sprint worlds).

Leave a Reply

